Directive 8140 Training at New Horizons St. Louis

As the transition from Directive 8570 to Directive 8140 begins, New Horizons St. Louis' dedicated government team is here to guide you along the way. The DoD 8140 model is based on the National Institute of Standard and Technology (NIST) National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) standard. This model will define categories as well as job titles more clearly.

New Horizons St. Louis has the training expertise and capability to thoroughly train Department of Defense (DoD) personnel and on contractors to comply with the very specific certification requirements of Directive 8140. The new framework allows for many different classes, certifications, and formalized training to now qualify an individual as “certified” in that task.

Security and Provision

Centered around architecture and engineering. Certificates and classes include Project Management Professional, CompTIA A+ Certification, SharePoint Management and Server Administration.

Operate and Maintain

Centered around the daily operation and maintenance of computer, network and enclave systems. Certifications and classes include CompTIA A+ Certification, CompTIA Network+ Certification and Cisco Certification Network Associate (CCNA).

Protect and Defend

Centered around security and defending against cyber-attacks. Certifications and classes include CompTIA A+ Certification and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP).


Centered around analyzing networks, systems and exploitations to provide signatures and mitigation strategies.

  • All Source Intelligence
  • Exploitation Analysis
  • Targets
  • Threat Analysis

Certifications and classes include Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH).


Centered around cyber operations and planning. Certifications and classes include CompTIA Security+ Certification.

Oversight and Development

Centered around the legal aspect, the planning and the education/training that needs to take place. Certifications and classes include Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) and Certified Information Security Manager (CISM).

How Can We Help?